Chronic Lyme

Here you can introduce yourself and give an account of your medical history, visits to physicians, results of treatments, etc.
Lev

Chronic Lyme

Post by Lev » Wed 8 Apr 2015 20:53

Hi everybody,

I have a long story of suffering, of more than 13 yeras. Mine is a mysterious illness which has been diagnosed as Depression, Bipolar Disorder and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome by a number of different physicians.

My main issues are profound fatigue (I live bed-bound or house-bound) and cognitive impairment (I was a brilliant student of Mechanical Engeneering before the illness onset, then I became unable to think clearly and I have really bg difficoulties in reading). For me there has been no cure.

About two years ago I began studying -with enormous difficoulties- some books of Immunology and Microbiology, and as scientific papers about CFS-like illnesses as I could. Then I decided to ask for many blood tests on viruses and bacterias.

So it tourned out that my PCR for Borrelia DNA was positive, although the serology (ELISA + Western Blot) was negative. Nevertheless an Italian physician diagnosed me as Chronic Lyme and I began to take IV and oral ABX.

I have been taking antibiotics for almost six month now, and I only had temporary relief with IV ceftriaxone and with oral amoxicilline. And I wonder if it has been due to the action that betalactam antibiotics have on glutammatergic system, than to the killing of bugs.

Now I've decided to book an apointment with prof Kenny De Meirleir, in Belgium, which is both a CFS and a Lyme expert.

So, this is my sad story. Any advise would be appreciated!

ChronicLyme19

Re: Chronic Lyme

Post by ChronicLyme19 » Thu 9 Apr 2015 14:08

Sorry to hear you are suffering, it's not fun.